Cortical Songs

A 15 track twenty-first century album (54m 58s) — released July 21st 2008 on nonclassical

Cortical Songs is a work in four movements for string ensemble and solo violin written by John Matthias and Nick Ryan in which the orchestra is partially controlled by a tiny computer brain.

Cortical Songs features the String Ensemble of Trinity College of Music, conducted by Nic Pendlebury with the solo violin played by John Matthias and live interactive programming by Nick Ryan.

Cortical Songs is remixed by Thom Yorke, Simon Tong (Gorillaz / The Good The Bad & The Queen), Simon Jones & Nick McCabe (The Verve), John Maclean (The Beta Band / The Aliens), Gabriel Prokofiev, and others.

...One of the year's most refreshing listens" - Gavin Haynes NME

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.